The EYFS was introduced in 2008 and revised in 2017. It is the curriculum which is compulsory for all early years’ childcare providers to follow and covers the requirements for education and welfare of children from birth to 5 years of age. As such, learning and development for children at pre-school is delivered in accordance with the EYFS and this curriculum continues during the reception year of school, providing consistency in children’s education and learning experiences.


The EYFS is a play-based curriculum which seeks to inspire children to develop the characteristics required to become effective learners, something they will need throughout their time at school. There are 3 characteristics:

  • Playing and Exploring - Willing to try new things
  • Active Learning - Experimenting with approaches to problems and tasks and persevering
  • Creating and Thinking Critically - Choosing how to approach things, having their own ideas, learning to evaluate tasks and problems and making links


Four guiding principles shape practice in Early Years settings;

  1. Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/carers
  4. Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates and the framework makes provision for all children in early years (although it envisages that in accordance with the principle of the unique child learning opportunities will be individually tailored to meet children’s needs)


The EYFS sets out the areas of learning and development, which shape the activities and experiences we offer at pre-school. There are seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and inter-connected. Three areas are of particular importance:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development


There are four further specific areas of learning and development through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design


Churchill Pre-School offers an interesting and stimulating learning environment, which is essential to support and encourage children to take the necessary unique steps along their individual developmental pathway. The experiences we offer are designed to deepen understanding of the prime and specific areas of learning and development in readiness for school and life. Your child’s allocated key person will plan for your child as an individual to ensure that they are supported in line with EYFS, specifically catering for their needs and interests, and with reference to their current level of development.


We hope this explains a little about the EYFS, however, the Pre-School Leader, or your child’s key person, will be happy to explain further if you would like to know more.

Print | Sitemap
© Churchill Pre-School